The best way of caring is doing.

Lately, I’ve been feeling sick to my stomach. No, not the kind where you take medicine to take away your sickness nor the one where you eat ice cream when you’re depressed. It’s that feeling of knowing the dark times we live in, knowing that at this time, at this moment, a child, a teenager, a girl my age that had aspirations to change the world, are unable to think of the future as their constant feeling is, “Will I be next to die?”. As a blogger, it is easy to get lost in the world of the “latest trends”, what Kendall Jenner is wearing now so I can copy it later, and how to take the perfect “ootd” in front of Spring blooms, but as it is said in Spanish “no se puede cubrir el cielo con un solo dedo or in other words, we can’t cover the sky with just one finger. I have been doing a lot of thinking if this should be a topic discussed, but you know what? It damn is. I can’t stay silent anymore of what is going just a couple of hours away from us because it is not something to be taken lightly or worse, ignored.  

Imagine the times where you were a child and think back on your childhood. You probably had playdates with your neighbors, had family dinner every day at 6 pm, and went to school telling your teacher what you wanted to become when you grew up. Now put yourselves in the shoes of the children in Syria: think about the fact that they are unable to get an education, they are unable to play with their childhood friends, they are unable to think about the future because all they can think about is, “what if this is my last gasp of air?”. I don’t say this to scare you nor to make you depressed, but to say: WAKE UP. We take a GREAT advantage of the simple fact that we are not living in a constant war zone, but that doesn’t give us the right to cover our eyes and ears of what is happening across the world.

You may be asking yourself, “WHY are you talking about this on a FASHION blog? WHY can’t I just read about this in the news?” Well, when you have a platform in where you can speak up on what is wrong and use it for good, why not DO something about it? Should I still be talking about clothes when in the back of my mind all I can think about is, what can YOU and I do to help?

So, in what ways can WE help, you may ask? Simple.

  • Volunteer: I currently found two places to volunteer, Lutheran Services Florida and Catholic Immigration and Refugee Services 
  • DonateThe White Helmets, American Refugee Committee, Islamic Relief USA, CARE  and other organizations are doing their best to get food, aid, and support through our donations. It doesn’t matter if it’s $10 or $100,  a small contribution can make the biggest difference. 
  • Be informed: I believe this is the hardest one, in my opinion. Sometimes we want to block the negativity and suffering that others are going through, so we do not watch the news or skip a viral video. Unfortunately, that’s not doing a lot of difference. Sometimes, even though we don’t want to, we have to face what the world is going through and try to best inform and share that information to make a difference. I had learned about the situation in Syria due to a Middle Eastern politics class I took in college (which for those of you that do not know, this is a war that has been going on since 2011. I learned ways to make a difference by reading my favorite magazine, Teen Vogue , which inspired me to write this post. I love that magazines such as Teen Vogue in articles found here and here teaches teens to open their eyes to what is going on around them and help them decide if they want to do something about it or not. It doesn’t matter your age, race, religion, background or anything that puts you in a category because at the end of the day, we are a l l humans and we all have to c a r e.

After all, the best way of caring is by d o i n g

Until the next post, 

Gabriela 

OOTD

Lemon purse: Poshmark

Crop top: Zara 

Gingham pants: similar here (and at an additional 50% off!) 

Mules: similar here 


 

One Reply to “The best way of caring is doing.”

Leave a Reply

