Straight Ahead




If life were only as straight as the stripes I’m wearing, life would be so much easier right? *sigh* Unfortunately, there are some teeny, tiny details called obstacles that appear every once in awhile and changes our path towards success or our objectives. The issue is not the obstacles that we have to face on a daily basis, but our attitudes and more importantly, our actions towards them. Are we doers or overthinkers? Emotional or hustlers? I personally struggle with the emotional side when it comes to confronting obstacles, something that I am learning to turn into action.

A perfect example of this would be when I received the call from my professor telling me the internship I was doing with her wasn’t added into my Fall courses, meaning I could walk the graduation ceremony but couldn’t obtain my diploma until the end of May. Worst of all? I received this call LESS THAN A MONTH BEFORE GRADUATION. Talk about stress! So, naturally, once I hung up the phone, guess what I did: I cried. A LOT. I was in the girls’ restroom and I’ll never forget girls patting me in the back trying to console me while I was in full panic mode; I couldn’t analyze my next step because I was so focused on the obstacle that had just hit my face that I couldn’t ACT in the moment. As I was walking towards my car to drive home and cry some more, I felt this uncanny feeling that there had to be another way, another option other than wait a whole other semester to call myself a college graduate. I called one of my good friends, Edwin, to explain what had just happened and his words were: Suck it up. Stop crying. And hustle. So I went to my department’s office, explained the situation and lo and behold, they were able to make an exception and add the class, which then led me to obtain my diploma a couple of weeks later.

The moral of the story is very simple: don’t let yourself get into your feelings without first figuring out how to deal with obstacles that appear out of nowhere and if you’re the type of person that lets their emotions come first (I’m the first one raising my hand!), surround yourself with hustlers and doers, with the ones that will be able to help you act. Most importantly, we always have to remember to look straight ahead in order to get what we want. It’s not about focusing on the obstacle thrown our way, but looking back and seeing how we solved the situation to get to where you are at this moment. Don’t let obstacles keep you from pursuing your goals, passions and dreams!

Until the next post,

Gabriela






OOTD

Straw Hat: American Eagle / Similar here

Sunglasses: Discovery Clothing – Similar here (Only $5!!)

Dress: Discovery Clothing

Shoes: Sam Edelman

Handbag: Cult Gaia 

Leave a Reply

