A Gingham Affair ft. Torrid

IMG_3140IMG_3092IMG_3223

IMG_3151IMG_3150

OOTD

Sunglasses + Pom Pom Tote + Swimsuit ( Top + Bottom) + Sandals Torrid 

Boater Hat – American Eagle (similar here) + Earrings – H&M (similar here)

+ Lipstick – Stila Cosmetics in Bella

Hi gorgeous! Welcome back to a new post!

 I am very excited to bring this beach ootd Torrid kindly sent me to provide the perfect summer vibes! As I headed out for my mini vacation to Sarasota this past weekend, I packed the perfect look for the beach! I know that the beach is all about relaxation and not worrying about wearing makeup and “dressing up” to get messed up with sand and salty water, but that doesn’t mean you can’t still look cute to the beach, am I right?! With that in mind, it’s all about the details and that’s exactly what I focused on: I chose this pair of heart sunglasses to bring out the girly side of the gingham two-piece set along with the perfect beach tote: a pom pom straw bag and finished the look with ombré knotted sandals. Despite the amazing details, can we just take a moment to appreciate the two-piece gingham swimsuit, like WHAT?! I love love looove gingham as well as high-waisted bottoms and as you’ve probably seen from magazines to It-girls, it is the “IT” print of Summer ’17! So why look “blah” when you can look FAB?! It accentuates my curves without overexposing my body in public and it just fits amazing! Also, the top? It’s an actual bra with a back strap to give you more support (and a little push-up too), how cool is that?! To all my curvy ladies, if you struggle with finding a swimsuit that is comfortable, sexy, and fitting, Torrid is awaiting you ❤ I hope you enjoyed this look and if you are looking for an encouraging post to cheer you up, just keep scrolling down…


I was D Y I N G

“First I was dying to finish high school and start college. 

And then I was dying to finish college and start working.

 And then I was dying to marry and have children. 

And then I was dying for my children to grow old enough for school so I could return to work. 

And then I was dying to retire. 

And now, I am dying…and suddenly I realize I forgot to live…” 

– Anonymous

While at Nokomis Beach by Sarasota area, a group of men created a circle with drums to play music. As I was becoming impatient because they wouldn’t start, my mom told me: “Why are you rushing? Take in the moment and relax”…maybe it’s the city girl on me or maybe it’s because I haven’t had relaxing vacations in a while, but it made me realize…”why the rush?” As one lives a fast-paced life, it’s rare to live in the actual moment. Have you ever been on a car ride, where you’ve been stuck to your phone screen the whole ride just to find out the moment you look up, you’ve missed the whole ride? You missed the scenery, the welcome sign of a city, maybe a dog taking in the air next to your car window because you were too busy in your “phone” to notice these small details. I don’t want to be the one that misses the small details, but takes in every moment. As humans that live in times where everything has to be fast-paced, rushed and hastened, our lives pass right through our eyes and before we know it, we’re missing important details because we just want to “rush” through something. I see this as the worst death of all; it’s the death that you’re unaware of, one that lives silently within you and bursts throughout your body the moment you realize you haven’t lived a life, but have been a slave to one. What kind of life you’re living if you’re already dead? My biggest fear in life is looking back and saying: “How have I lived? Am I proud of the life I’ve lived?” and reflecting only to find out I haven’t lived. As cliché as it sounds, there’s only ONE life to live and people, including myself, take advantage of this all the time, as if WE are the ones controlling how long we get to live for, leaving things for “tomorrow” because it’s a “guarantee” we’ll be alive until then. I had a friend who died in a car accident at just 22 years old. The Pulse victims were just having a night of dance and fun. The Manchester victims just wanted to hear their favorite artist sing their favorite songs, maybe even for the first time. So as you can see, there isn’t a “guaranteed tomorrow” nor a guaranteed today, but you can live the moment you are in right now and not put all your importance in a phone, a computer, a tv show. If you could take the moment right now and reflect on what you’re life has been so far, what would you think of it? How would you feel about it? Think about it and if you feel like there’s something missing, there’s something more you should be doing, pursue it. Don’t just be a zombie walking though the crazy roller coaster called “life”, but take the reigns of it and change things that make you unhappy to happy. 

Stay Colorful,

Gabby

9 Replies to “A Gingham Affair ft. Torrid”

  1. Gabby! I loved your colab with Torrid! The look you put together and the details are amazing!!! I love your end point aboit life + death. It’s really something that we should all think about and strive to tell ourselves each morning ‘ok today I’m going to conciously live out my day’ Great post love!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loveee this outfit, the sandals were so adorable! You look great love. But the ending is what got me, I’m sure a believer in living and tomorrow isn’t promised that we should always take advantage. Great post babe!

    Like

Leave a Reply

