90s Comeback: How to Stay Lit 

Happy Wednesday everyone! New day, new post! 

As you can see from the title of this post, the pictures can be self-explanatory, am I right?! This is a weird fact, but I have a list of dream photoshoots that contains different locations, and one of them was none other than: CHECKERS. Yep, the one with the greasy burgers and fries? Haha, I’ve always loved the black and white checkered walls and the neon signs of the (small but mighty) arcade room. 

90s fashion comeback
90s fashion comeback
90s fashion comeback she Wears Color
90s Fashion Comeback
90s Fashion Comeback she Wears Color
90s Fashion Comeback

I finally met up with a guy whose work I’ve been obsessed with for a while, Diogo and his girlfriend/photog assistant Eleasha. Um, can I just say: GOALS?! They are the ultimate couple #goals as they worked amazingly together to create this litness. Both of them are CRAZY talented and I loved that for a change, they directed ME and gosh, did it come out amazing! Let me tell you that there isn’t a better feeling in this WORLD than having another creative understand your vision and helping you make it a reality, so thank YOU Diogo and Eleasha for not only being the sweetest and raddest, but for making one of my dream shoots a reality! I wanted to do a style that was edgy, daring, and out of the normal, so I put on my “stay lit” hoodie, paired it with some braids + sneaks and voilá, you get 90s vibes all over again. 

90s Fashion Comeback She Wears Color
90s Fashion Comeback
90s Fashion Comeback She Wears Color
90s Fashion Comeback
90s Fashion Comeback She Wears Color
90s Fashion Comeback

After I came out of this dream photoshoot with one of my favorite photographers, I couldn’t stop thinking of my hoodie’s slogan (and no, not the smoking kind), but the one of staying “lit”. When I think of this phrase, all I can think about is the hustle and bustle, the grind, the sacrifices to make a blog work and how bad I want it to be successful. Throughout this blogging journey, I’ve learned that if I want to achieve something, I need to hustle and work my butt off to get it. Just like saying “new year, new me” every January, YOU have to remind yourself everyday to STAY LIT & HUSTLE FOR YOUR GOALS. Your biggest discouragement is yourself, so you have to start with the right mindset everyday in order to have success in whatever you propose to do. Want a successful blog? Do your research. Want a photoshoot with your dream photographer? Send them an email. Want to work with a brand? Sell yourself as the best blogger you can be. Yet before you can do any of these things, think to yourself: what makes you stay lit? What motivates you to do what you’re doing? And how do you stay motivated? Believe me, there have been days where I just want to sleep in until 2 pm, watch Velvet on Netflix and stay in bed A L L day. Sounds like the dream right? But unfortunately, this isn’t how I’m going to stay motivated and achieve my goals. You have to start with the right mentality: you are LIT. you are AWESOME and you will achieve GREAT THINGS. Once you make yourself believe this; darling, the things you’ll accomplish in this life! If it’s hard for you to stay motivated, think back to the reason for why you started what you started, surround yourself with the doers and shakers, find inspiration from all your surroundings. I root for you and all of your dreams to become reality, but most importantly: do YOU? 

How do you “stay lit”? What motivates you to keep working towards your goals? 

90s Fashion Comeback She Wears Color
90s Fashion Comeback
90s Fashion Comeback She Wears Color
90s Fashion Comeback
90s Fashion Comeback She Wears Color
90s Fashion Comeback

Stay Colorful,

Gabby 

OOTD
| Hoops: Agaci – Backpack: Urban Outfitters (similar) – Hoodie (men’s section) + skirt: F21 – Socks: AliExpress – Sneakers: Puma 

One Reply to “90s Comeback: How to Stay Lit ”

  1. Okay wait, that skirt has a snake/animal print on it?! IM DEAD! Okay moving on. This post … EVERYTHING. I love this so much. You’re literally right about every right. As I was reading the part of sometimes staying in bed and binge watching Netflix I was like ‘oh girl. That’s you sometimes’ then you hit me with the ‘you need to get up and be lit.’ so true! This is one of those posts you ccome back to for a little motivation! Plus these photos are hot FIRE

    Like

Leave a Reply

